Sunday, August 23, 2009

Cruise Control

I know its not like me to do two blog spots per day, but yesterday was special.

My aunt woke me up at 5:45 AM. I took a shower, grabbed some extra clothed, loaded the car, hopped in the drivers seat, and headed out at 6:30.

Destination? My hometown : Fresno. And so the adventure began

Set my aunt set the GPS, even though she doesn't know how to work that thing well and we hit the highway. And so for about an hour or so it was a normal drive, until the sun began to rise and was blinding me as I drove. My aunt was getting sleepy so she told me to look for the exit going toward LA and Fresno. I couldn't really see the exit signs so I just listened to the GPS. And then this is where it got a bit more interesting.

GPS: "Keep left on Highway so and so"

I signal left and go over a couple lanes, and I see an exit sign that say LA/Fresno on the RIGHT side, and so I completely miss it. I wake up my aunt and she starts panicking and getting mad at the GPS n stuffs so we just decide to trust the GPS on it. And so it took us to interstate 99, and thats when my aunt was able to calm down. Straight forward drive and I loled when my GPS said :"Drive straight for 108 miles" And so we stopped by a gas station real quick to buy some drinks so I could keep awake and so I drove. It was at this point where I learned how to use cruise control. So I set my speed at 80 MPH and locked that speed in. That way, I was able to crack my right foot and enjoy my Iced tea while speeding down the Highway and turn a four hour drive to three hours.

Upon arrival, I felt really nostalgic as I looked around my hometown and recognizing familiar places and streets, but at the same time amazed at how much its changed. As we drove, I passed by stores that I knew, and stores that I'd never seen before. We went to go buy flowers, and I remembered a rite aid in the area of where we were going. When we got there, there was a huge Safeway right next to it and the rite aid looked small and abandoned. Kinda made me sad. After buying the flowers, we headed out to the cemetery. So I visited my mom, dad, and grandmother's graves and left the flowers.

Afterward I visited old family friends and let them gush over how much I've grown, and let them ask me if I had a girlfriend yet n stuffs. Sigh. Anyway, it sure did bring back a lot of memories.

After that I visited the Monzons, and my only last immediate family member, my grandmother. The sad thing is, she has Alzheimer's disease. She couldn't even remember me, but she cried when she heard I was her son's son. Sigh. I guess you can't blame her when she's 97 years old. Hahaha, my uncle gave me 20 dollars.

So afterward we went to my visit an old tenant of my house who got married and move out and so we got to visit her and her husband who made me the best man. It was fun seeing them again. Then there I got to meet up with other family friends who to me, are like family because I literally grew up with them. I remember when I left they were so small and annoying, yet cute. Now they're bigger, and still annoying. Jk. But I feel so old now. The two older ones are both freshmen now >_>. And the youngest is in 6th grade and she goes to my old school, Manchester GATE. I'm proud of her for getting into that school haha. So after getting to run around with them for a while, reliving the old days, I find I just don't have as much energy as I did before to keep up with them. And so they told me about the old days and how much I used to do.

They're favorite memory of me was when I was jumping from bed to bed and I karate kicked through a window and broke it. I don't really remember it too well, but I know I got in a hell of a lot of trouble. There was more I don't remember but apparently I did a lot cuz they had a lot of stories about me.

So after that, Cheron, one of them who is like my little sister, was fooling around with my phone and and started calling girls on my phone. Luckily I got her at the C's. haha. Sorry if anyone got a random call >_>

And so we left after my aunt finally stopped talking to the other aunties and we stopped by Target to go get spicy foods to keep awake and also dog food for...well..the dogs. I was ok for the first hour, but then I got sleepy so we pulled into the Rest stop and i slept for a while and then my aunt took over and drove for me. About an hour later, she woke me up and we switched again in some random town and I set my speed at 75 and set to cruise control again. Got home at like 12:30ish.

Soon as I got home, I feed the dogs, changed, and hit the bed.

So thats for anyone who was wondering what I did on Saturday :)

No comments:

Post a Comment